Setting Content Permissions
Content permissions control access to CMS content-related tools and special content actions.
The controls you see depend on your CMS permissions. Users with restricted permissions may not be able to access all features.
To set content permissions:
- Open the User Manager from the System accordion.
- Find the user on the Users tab.
- Click the user's Edit button.
- Open the System Permissions tab.
- Expand the Content permission group.
- Update the needed permission toggles.
- Click Save.

The Content group includes Change Log, File & Folder, Publish, and Recycle permissions.
The Content group can include:
- Change Log
- File & Folder
- Publish
- Recycle
Change Log uses View permission. When View is on, the user can access and review the Change Log, a summary of changes made to content areas on pages in each section.
File & Folder permissions control file manager actions:
- Upload: allows the user to upload files to the server.
- Create: allows the user to create folders on the server.
- Rename: allows the user to rename files or folders.
- Delete: allows the user to delete files or folders.
Publish uses View permission. When View is on, the user can access the publish tool, which displays site pages with unpublished content.
Recycle permissions control access to deleted or recycled content:
- View: allows the user to access the Recycle area.
- Restore: allows the user to restore items.
- Delete: allows the user to permanently delete items.
Learn More
For page-level content editing access, see Understanding Page Permissions.